Lord, Here Am I

“Lord, here am I.

Do with me what You please, write upon me as You please:
I give up myself to be at Your disposal.

The ambitious man gives himself up to his honors,
but I give up myself to You;
he gives himself up to his pleasures,
but I give up myself to You;
he gives himself up to his idols,
but I give myself to You, my Lord!

Lay what burden You will upon me,
but let Your everlasting arms be under me.
I am laid down in Your will.

I have learned to say amen to Your amen
for You have greater interest in me than even I have in myself.
I give up myself to You, willing to be at Your disposal,
ready to receive what impression You shall stamp on me.

O blessed Lord, have You not again and again said to me:
‘I am yours, O soul, to save you –
My mercy is yours to pardon you;
My blood is yours to cleanse you;
My merits are yours to justify you;
My righteousness is yours to clothe you;
My Spirit is yours to lead you;
My grace is yours to enrich you;
My glory is yours to reward you.’

Therefore, I cannot but make a resignation of myself to You.

Lord, here I am.
Do with me as is good in Your own eyes.
I know the best way is to resign up myself to Your will,
and to say amen to Your amen.”

~adapted from Thomas Brooks,
The Mute Christian Under the Smarting Rod

Leave a Reply

