Honesty

A friend told me the other day that I reveal too much about my struggles with sin and private thoughts… to the point that it makes me look bad.

I took a few moments to think about this, then God revealed something to me:

Yeah. It does make me look bad. And you know what? That’s okay, because I’m not the hero in the story.

If I bring to light my faithlessness to God, it illuminates the faithfulness of God. His love is not contingent on me keeping a to do list, but instead is based on His own love (after all, if my salvation had anything to do with my own resolve, then I could likewise lose His affection by anything I do or neglect to do). God remains faithful because He cannot deny Himself.

I’m encouraged by the apostle Paul’s progression of how he spoke of himself.
First, “I am the least of the apostles.”
Years later, “I am the least of all the saints.”
And finally, “I am the chiefest of sinners.”

If we are not seeing our own sin, chances are it’s due to not seeing God’s glory. Notice I didn’t use the past tense here. We must be continually confronted with God. If we see Him for all that He is, it will give us something to talk about, and will cause us to speak truthfully about who we are before Him. We can rightly echo with Paul that our only boast is Christ crucified.

If I only speak of the high points in my life, if I’m all about making my name great and expanding my influence and building up my kingdom, then the end result is that I get the glory. But if I speak in honesty and reveal the dark parts of me — the parts that yearn and ache and groan with all of creation for the coming of the One who will restore and make all things new — then I can celebrate the good as it points to Someone good outside of me. So that when there is victory in my life, it can be rightfully credited to the God who is faithful, because others can now rightly see how apart from Jesus Christ I have nothing of lasting good to offer. By confessing my sin to others, I provide a true context in which others can gaze at the depths of my soul to see what sort of a fallen man that I am, and likewise despite how despicable I can be at times, God is still faithful to bring true transformation by His Spirit.

The God who began a good work is faithful to complete it…

Leave a Reply

