Silence

Psalm 62:1 says “For God alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation”

What does it mean to wait for God in silence? Is it this sort of quasi-holy solitude? Probably not. Silence here isn’t referring to a hoped for or attained environment of tranquility, but instead, is speaking to the quietness of our own spirit. Also, “wait” isn’t meant to suggest that God only comes to us in the quiet place; after all, God is everywhere at all times and no matter where we go, He is there (see Psalm 139). The waiting has to do with trust: relinquishing control, giving up the reins, and letting Him be the God of our lives; it’s about waiting on God. For me to wait for God in silence means that I’ll trust Him without anger, without grumbling, and without complaining, no matter the situation I’m put in; I can rest in His finished work and be content in His sovereignty, knowing that He’s in control.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Silence listenlearn

My soul waits for God in silence
For all of my hope is in Him
The Lord is my Light and salvation
He’s my Refuge – I shall not be shaken

He comforts me through all life brings
Beneath the shadow of His wings
The Lord is my Rock and Redeemer
He’s my God – He’s my Savior

I can’t sing enough, can’t bring enough
Can’t cling enough to the King of love
So I will rest in His righteousness
And wait for Him in silence

The worth of the soul is costly
Yet while in my sin He sought me
He flew from His throne in mercy
For my pardon; with His blood He bought me.

My heart overflows thanksgiving
I pour out myself to the King
My tongue is the pen of a writer
All for Jesus, God forever

I can’t sing enough, can’t bring enough
Can’t cling enough to the King of love
So I will rest in His righteousness
And wait for Him in silence

4 thoughts on “Silence

Leave a Reply

